budgeting…

One day the chaos left and budgeting became an addiction…

This year my budget has 3 line items. Tithe, Expenses and Investments. No, I have not broken into further details as I am now able to figure out how much is needed for each category. (10 years of personal budgeting does that). I think, though, it would be useful to breakdown the investments into something more tangible for the reason that this is a new area of learning for me.

10 years? Yes…

Budgeting has helped bring order to what would have been an otherwise chaotic life. I am so used to the practice that a recent attempt at abandoning it threw me into a complete frenzy. My story isn’t different. I begun where every budgeter begins. Tracking every single expenditure, knowing when each payment fell due and making arrangements to meet each obligation. The first months were extremely hard. Not only was I trying to balance unexpected annual expenses that were interfering with my ideal budget, I had the difficult task of convincing my mind that a ‘lesser’ lifestyle was worthwhile. BUT one day chaos left and budgeting became and ADDICTION 🙂

Keeping the momentum was equally difficult but I kept on seeking help. I was deep in debt and desperately need it. I came across a budgeting guide that was easy to use and understand (see next week’s post for details). I was able to extrapolate complex budgets to it and vice versa. Extrapolate is a complex term but I use it intentionally to point out the fact that if you don’t know or understand something ask for help. Work with your spouse, sibling or somebody at your company and the MOTIVATION to pursue a seemingly daunting task will come.

Finally, it was when I begun combining my simplistic understanding of budgets to other elements of finance that the bonuses begun to come. An article on budgeting led me to another and another and with time I was digesting complex financial information. My cash flows begun to improve. Nothing ginormous but seeing a 500/- increase in my monthly pay made me yearn for information that would bring an advantage. And it didn’t matter if the gain was a shilling. It was still profit. The real TRANSFORMATION was gaining the confidence to make financial decisions and being able to appreciate that risk and failure are all part of the process…

1 thought on “budgeting…”

Leave a Reply

