tithe…

A covenant that continues to break the hold money…

You cannot begin to imagine the horror I felt when I saw a post that read “Tithe is a subscription that followers pay to a religion.” If the guy was close by I’d give him a real good fix. Just kidding 🙂 The truth is, however, this matter has never failed to attract controversy. No, I do not intend to add to the debate. Mine is to share what tithe means to me. Here goes…

Back then – when I joined the Church – I didn’t hear too much of it spoken about (money) but I heard a little enough to make me search the scriptures and understand what was being taught. Our Pastors always encouraged us to confirm the word for ourselves. I would spend a lot of time searching the scriptures to understand – for myself. And when I understood, I made a covenant with God that tithing would for me be a spiritual act of worship.

Has the journey been easy? Not always. Some season are rough. Some seasons are tough. Some seasons the money just isn’t enough but I have a covenant. A covenant of worship. A covenant that continues to break the hold money has over me.

Has it been rewarding? Absolutely! In seasons of bleak, I have seen God’s miraculous provision not just financially but mentally. You need a mental hardness that only God can give in times of lack. Seasons of bloom are harder for the reason that it is easy to forget that God has been at the centre of all. Tithing brings me back.

So is it just about checking lists? James of the Bible 🙂 says that true religion means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt us. Jesus, himself, warns against such a checklist. See excerpt below…

23 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cumin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former.” ~ Matt.23:23

 

Leave a Reply

